Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    TwinkletOes26 Posts: 182, Reputation: 2
    -

May 29, 2008, 10:00 AM
    Recent Grad who is going I to the work force needs a few questions answered
    Hey I just graduated from colleg and about to enter the work force and I have a few questions that hopefully some more expierenced (not calling anyone here old) people on here can answer these questions for me... first I will give you a little back ground : I majored in psychology so I am looking for jobs that are in the social services area so here are my questions

1. are open toed shoes really not allowed at the work place because I have seen people in several offices wearing them but I always read and was told that open toed shoes are a no no because they lack professionalism(tell the shoe stores that finding closed toed shoes in the summer in ga is nearly impossible ) what about those cute ballerin flats are those OK they are closed toed and look professional and I can stand and walk all day w/o hurt feet if I need to?

2. If making friends at work is a bad idea(I learned this from working part time in a grocery store) where do real adults go to make friends all my college buddies are either in another state or still in college... so what does a 20 something do to make new friends pick them ip at a bar ?

3. I hear after you get hired you work out a contract with your boss(in my case the state because social work) what should I ask for?

4. How do I handle difficult coworkers/boss while I was in college if I didn't like someone I would either avoid or let them know why I didn't like them and see if we could work something out but I know in the workplace its different who what is the professional way to deal with coworkers/boss that difficult

5. being a recent grad I'm broke so will be brown bagging my lunch(and because its suppose to be better for you health wise) any ideas on things to take for lunch my ideas consist of pb and j and turkey