Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Sarahm1006 Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

May 27, 2008, 12:12 PM
    Outside A/C unit makes high pitch noise when turned on
    I am a builder. I have a homeowner who has 3 Trane A/C units. It took a while to distinguish which unit was squeeling. But we now know that when the second floor unit comes on the A/C compressor on the outside make a loud squeeling noice that wakes the homeowner at night. It makes the noise for 30 seconds or less. My sub that installed the units is having a hard time figuring out the problem - mainly because the noise does not last very long. Any ideas?
    Thanks
    :confused:
    hvac1000 Posts: 14,540, Reputation: 435
    Heating & Air Conditioning Expert

May 27, 2008, 12:22 PM
    Are you sure it is the compressor and not the fan motor/blade assembly?

Usually when a compressor makes that kind of noise it indicates.
    Compressor starving for oil on start up
    Wrong flow rater/piston for evaporator or TXV wrong size/out of adjustment.
    Incorrect refrigerant charge.
    Bent of kinked refrigerant lines.
    Contact the manufacturer. They may have run into this before.

May 27, 2008, 12:33 PM
    Could be what you say - may not be compressor. All I can say is it comes from the outside A/C unit for 2nd floor. The A/C works great - good cooling - no other noises. If that outside unit was on the other side of the house it would not be an issue.:D
    hvac1000 Posts: 14,540, Reputation: 435
    Heating & Air Conditioning Expert

May 27, 2008, 12:56 PM
    2nd floor?? Did you use oil traps if necessary? Usually the oil will come back to the compressor from a elevated evaporator but no always.

May 27, 2008, 05:21 PM
    Thanks for the advice - I will check w/my HVAC contractors. They will be out there on Thursday to try and investigate it again.:cool:

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search