Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Augie T Posts: 9, Reputation: 1

May 22, 2008, 08:00 AM
    Double pane windows
    I have a large triangle shapped window that the seal has been broken on... is there a way or a company that repairs them... the window was a special order 25 years ago & I fear the cost of replacement would be real expensive
    DaBaAd Posts: 271, Reputation: 36

May 22, 2008, 08:45 AM
    I would call your local window companies and get quotes from each of them. They would be better able to assess the damage.
    ballengerb1 Posts: 27,378, Reputation: 2280
    Home Repair & Remodeling Expert

May 22, 2008, 08:50 AM
    Repair a thermopane window? Not possible according to my glazier. Once the seal breaks air and moisture get inside and start condensing and leaving spots and residue.
    Tommyjo206 Posts: 38, Reputation: 8

May 23, 2008, 11:28 AM
    I agree with ballengerb1. I have been selling thesr windows for 11 years. Fixing the existing glass unit is not an possible. There are two options - call a glass company in your area to have them replace the glass unit. This may be the easist since the window frame will not be removed from the wall. Second is to replace the entire window unit. This may be the more costly choice since you will be paying for a new window and labor to install it. Of course you would be getting an entirly new window. Check out the costs on both options. The local glass Co should give free estimates. If there is a Lowe's or Home Depot in the area, they can also give the cost for the window and install labor.
    Quote Originally Posted by ballengerb1
    Repair a thermopane window? Not possible according to my glazier. Once the seal breaks air and moisture get inside and start condensing and leaving spots and residue.
    WindowMedic Posts: 3, Reputation: 2

May 24, 2008, 11:27 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by ballengerb1
    Absolutely possible! I restore foggy windows every day.