Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    TrcukerB1984 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Feb 25, 2006, 08:17 PM
    Trucking Company
    Hey Experts!

I am an owner operator currently work for a small company in Chicago. I live in LA County California. I own a big rig and have all my numbers (MC, US DOT). I am trying to start my own company and subcontract other owner operators to drive for me. Can anyone give me advice on how to get started? How do I find brokers in different states that can provide me with sufficient loads for my drivers. How do I write up contracts for my employees? Do I need to hire a lawyer to do all the paperwork for me? Please any info would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks guys.
    tkrussell Posts: 9,659, Reputation: 725
    Uber Member

Feb 26, 2006, 07:37 AM
    Only someone in your line of business can really help with your specific questions. So far doesn't seem to be any truckers to help with your questions, so I will offer my opinion and ideas. All I know about trucking is how to track shipments with Pro numbers,wait for my shipment to arrive so I can install my equipment, and how to make claims for concealed damage.

Quite honestly, these are aspects of business that you should already have some idea how to tackle if you have been working in this line for some time, let's call it experience.

Even if you knew how to get started, wise advice will be to contact an attorney for help with the contracts. My guess will be that he will ask for sample contracts that pertain to the business line.

Beyond that, the attorney may be able to help with other aspects of startup, however, this may become expensive, and better handled by yourself, let's call it sweat equity.

Locating brokers seems to be the life blood essential to having work. This is marketing, locating and attracting customers that need your services.

Doing web search for trucking brokers found:

http://freightfinder.com/trucking/trucking-broker.cfm