Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    icecream92 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

May 7, 2008, 11:36 PM
    Live Scan Law
    I am an Marriage and Family therapist who is applying for an intern number. Employers are asking for permission to do a live scan. I have two DUI's on my record from 1995, should I disclose this information to the potential employer when they ask on the application, "Have you ever been arrested?" What type of information does a live scan report? Will information from 1995 regarding DUI's show up on a live scan?
    Clough Posts: 26,677, Reputation: 1649
    Uber Member

May 8, 2008, 02:38 AM
    I don't know how far back a live scan goes. But, if the question on the application is just point blank, "Have you ever been arrested?", then I would suggest writing "Yes.", and explain why if it asks for that. Best to be honest and upfront. 1995 was quite awhile ago...
    JudyKayTee Posts: 46,503, Reputation: 4600
    Uber Member

May 8, 2008, 06:08 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by icecream92
    I am an Marriage and Family therapist who is applying for an intern number. Employers are asking for permission to do a live scan. I have two DUI's on my record from 1995, should I disclose this information to the potential employer when they ask on the application, "Have you ever been arrested?" What type of information does a live scan report? Will information from 1995 regarding DUI's show up on a live scan?

Well, you actually were arrested so I think the answer to that question is "yes," whether it will show up on a background check.

I don't know what State you are in but if you lie on the application and the truth comes out that State might be very, very reluctant to license you to do any type of counselling of other people.

Don't think you should be punished for 1995 incidents if you've been clean since but also don't think you should lie on the application - about anything.
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert