Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    sam912 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

May 6, 2008, 08:34 AM
    Present value
    Hi,

I am new to Finance and having a tough time understanding the concept. Here is the question:

Jack Hammer invests in a stock that will pay dividends of $2.00 at the end of the first year; $2.20 at the end of the second year; and $2.40 at the end of the third year. Also, he believes that at the end of the third year he will be able to sell the stock for $33. What is the present value of all future benefits if a discount rate of 11 percent is applied? (Round all values to two places to the right of the decimal point.)
    I am assuming this is the formula to use PVa = A x PV ifa (n=3, I=11%), however how do I calculate the a and ifa?

Thanks!:)
    morgaine300 Posts: 6,561, Reputation: 276
    Uber Member

May 7, 2008, 12:57 AM
    I don't know what your book is calling a and ifa. Since you'd be taking your values and multiplying by a factor, I presume the ifa is a factor. But is the a supposed to stand for annuity, cause this isn't an annuity. Since you're also only doing this with n = 3, as though that's the only equation you have to do, I might assume you're trying to make it an annuity. But I'm just guessing on that.

It would help a lot if we knew what you thought this was supposed to be as opposed to just having this equation.

An annuity is when there are equal payments at equal times. i.e. an exact equal series of payments. Like a loan payment that's the same every month, or the same $2000 put into your IRA each year, etc. This is 4 totally different amounts and is therefore not an annuity. Having payments doesn't make it an annuity - having equal payments at equal times does. The factor wouldn't know how to account for the 4 different values you have. You'll have to do all 4 numbers individually.