Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    janieg Posts: 7, Reputation: 1

Jun 14, 2004, 07:12 AM
    Transformer buzz on heat pump
    We just got a new heat pump/furnace/airconditioner installed (Trane) and you can hear the "buzz" of the transformer on the outside unit all of the time. Our old unit did this, but I always assumed it was because it was getting old and something was wrong. Is this normal? And why is the transformer "on" even when the unit isn't running. I'm not an electrician expert, but I do know that, for example, the transformer on a doorbell doesn't buzz until it's activated/in use. So why would a heat pump transformer constantly buzz or be activated?

Thanks for any help,
    JG
    labman Posts: 10,580, Reputation: 551
    Uber Member

Jun 14, 2004, 01:22 PM
    Re: transformer buzz on heat pump
    I would go back to the installer. Most transformers buzz a little, but that sounds excessive for a little control transformer. If the installer won't help, contact Trane directly. I am sure they want to hold up their fine reputation.