Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Chutz Posts: 4, Reputation: 1

May 3, 2008, 10:39 AM
    J-1 visa tax exemption, change status to H-1B visa?
    Hello,

I'm from Thailand and holding J-1 visa. For J-1 visa I can exempt tax for 2 years.
    I'm wondering how's tax payment after 2 years in two different status.

1. If I extend J-1 visa, do I need to pay tax back for the first two years?

2. If I change to H-1B, do I need to pay tax back for the first two years (while I was J-1 status)?

Thank you in advance.
    MukatA Posts: 7,110, Reputation: 176
    Tax Expert

May 3, 2008, 11:17 AM
    Your J1 visa is for Professor, Teacher, Research, Student?
    When did you enter the U.S. on J1 visa? Did you have any other visa before that?

The tax treaty with Thailand does not say any where that you have to pay back the taxes if your stay exceeds two years.

May 3, 2008, 12:45 PM
    Thank you MukatA

I am a researcher and I've been US since Oct, 06. I did not have any visa before that.

Some people said for J1 visa I can exempt tax only for 2 years. If I stay longer than that tax exemption is over and I need to pay back for the first two years.

I also found this page Alien Manual, Section D3, Tax Treaty Exemption
    In D3.2 **** Tax Treaty is lost retroactively if stay in country exceeds 2 year period.

Anyway I didn't find anywhere mention about tax treaty is lost retroactively in the tax treaties article as MukatA mentioned.

ARTICLE 23
    Teachers
    1. An individual who visits a Contracting State for a period not exceeding two years for the
    Purposes of teaching or engaging in research at a university, college or other recognized educational
    Institution in that State, and who was immediately before that visit a resident of the other Contracting
    State, shall be exempted from tax by the first-mentioned Contracting State on any remuneration for such