Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    man11111 Posts: 8, Reputation: 1

Apr 25, 2008, 02:37 PM
    FICA taxes on opt/cpt
    Hi,

I came to the US on an F-1 visa in Aug 2001.

I filed 1040NREZ for years 01, 02, 03, 04, 05.

I was on an internship with employer A (a for profit, non higher education employer) in 2006 (at that time I had just filed year 2005 returns as a non resident), and no FICA taxes were withheld for me.

When I filed taxes for year 2006, I discovered that I was a resident for tax purposes and filed 1040EZ instead.

For year 2007, I was back at my school and FICA taxes were not withheld (which is okay, because higher education students are exempt irrespective of their resident/nonresident status)

Currently, I started full time with employer B and they are not withholding ss/medicare taxes yet. I have emailed their tax team asking them to withhold it as I am a resident for tax purposes.

My questions are:
    1) What can I do about my situation with employer A (for whom I worked for in 2006). I did not know that I was a resident at the time of employment. What can I do regarding the SS/medicare taxes that were not withheld? Am I correct in my assumption that ss/mc taxes should have been withheld? What are my options?

2) W.r.t. employer B, am I correct that ss/medicare taxes should be withheld currently?

Thanks for your opinions. Your help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks
    MukatA Posts: 7,110, Reputation: 176
    Tax Expert

Apr 26, 2008, 07:22 AM
    Were did you read "...higher education students are exempt irrespective of their resident/nonresident status." This is not true.

Since you filed 2006 return as resident, you were resident for 2007 and were required to pay FICA taxes.
    Now recently, IRS has changed its stand. Social Security Tax / Medicare Tax and Self-Employment

Employer is not withholding taxes. Did you get W2 of 1099-Misc from the employer?

Apr 26, 2008, 09:30 AM