Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    mesot420 Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Apr 18, 2008, 08:41 AM
    Water volume increasing or decreasing?
    I was having an argument the other night with my husband and he said that we've had the same amount of water (volume) since the beginning of time. I said that slowly humans have been comsuming it and that we may still be close to the same amount but it has decrease because water may be the miricle of life but it's not created miraculously. Am I right or is he.
    ashley0716 Posts: 121, Reputation: 12

Apr 18, 2008, 08:45 AM
    Well I'm not a scientist, but our bodies are made of mostly water and there are BILLIONS of people on earth NOW versus the beginning of time, so my educated guess is there is less water. Hence the reason lots of areas in the world are suffering a drought and have water usage restrictions. I live in Savannah GA and I'm not allowed to wash my car or water my lawn. And your husband needs to understand, that women are ALWAYS right!
    ebaines Posts: 12,131, Reputation: 1307
    Expert

Apr 21, 2008, 02:16 PM
    I'm afraid you're both wrong. First, you husband is wrong because there are plenty of chemical reactions that occur all the time that change water into something else (hence depleting it), but there are others that create water. Some examples:

1. Plants combine water with nutrients from the soil and energy from the sun for photosynthesis. The result is that water gets locked up into the tissues of plants as something other than water (such as sugar), thus depleting the amount of free water molecules in the atmosphere and in the ground.