Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Special7 Posts: 4, Reputation: 1

Apr 17, 2008, 08:44 PM
    Addicted to PCP and want to stop!
    Does anyone have any horror stories that will scare me away from PCP. I have been using for over six years and I need to stop. I have children who need me and even though I know it, it's not enough to help me kill this addiction. Please Help me.
    oneguyinohio Posts: 1,302, Reputation: 196
    Ultra Member

Apr 17, 2008, 08:59 PM
    You don't need horror stories, you need a slap in the face. You have children depending on you, and the drugs are evidently more important than they are.

You are the horror story that people can look at and know if they need help. It doesn't get much lower than where you are, but the question should be, are you ready to get help and what are you willing to do about it. There is not an easy way out.

Take a look at yourself, and call a drug hotline to get assistance. Or do your children a favor and call children's survices so they can put your children somewhere that gives them a higher priority than what you have.
    simoneaugie Posts: 2,490, Reputation: 438
    Ultra Member

Apr 17, 2008, 09:41 PM
    No, you don't need a judgemental slap in the face. All you asked for was some terrible inspiration because the PCP has a terrible grip on you. You are reaching out for help.

You realize that you have a problem. You know it is affecting your kids. You are asking for help in kicking this addiction. Only someone who has never been addicted to anything (or an ex-smoker) would be so unkind. The non-addicts think that addiction is a bad choice you have made, without thought of others.

True, addiction doesn't care about anyone, even you. But you are not shameful and evil, the drug's hold on you is. Addiction itself is a horror story, but the disease tells you that it's not a problem. It lies. The following are the truth.