Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    jdittman Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Apr 12, 2008, 10:45 AM
    Replaced hot water stem in shower and now no water.
    I am trying to replace the hot water stem in my bathtub and I got it changed out and when I turned the water on nothing. Took it off and turned the water on and water sprayed out and again I put it on and nothing. I am a complete novice with this, there is another piece that came with the stem and looks like there is a piece in the pipe. Am I supposed to replace that also? And is could that be why there is no water. I tried to screw it out but it won't budge. I would appreciate anyone's help. The house was built in the 70's and I have been in it about 4 years. So it may be the original stem for all I know.
    speedball1 Posts: 29,301, Reputation: 1939
    Eternal Plumber

Apr 12, 2008, 11:19 AM
    Did you pick up another stem or is this the original? Where does the water not come out of? The spout? The shower head? Where? Why were you repairing it in the first place? If the piece that came with the stem is like a small ring of brass then it's a seat. That metal left in the valve. Run something around in there and tell me if there are any nicks or rough spots. Do you have a brand name for the valve? Back to you, Tom
    jdittman Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Apr 12, 2008, 12:02 PM
    It is a new stem. The old one broke and would not turn off. The water does not come out of the faucet or the shower head when I turn the water on. It is a seat that came with it. I don't think there are any nicks. Is it the old seat that I see in there, if so how do I get it out to replace it. It will not budge. The new stem is hot stem 7E-5H for Indiana brass.

Quote Originally Posted by speedball1