Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    asn234 Posts: 17, Reputation: 1

Apr 11, 2008, 11:15 AM
    Resident alien married to Nonresident alien- 1040 details
    Hello, I have a straightforward question:

I am a resident alien who is married to a nonresident alien. We have one child who is my dependent. I will be filing as head of household and will claim an exemption for my wife (she does not work) and for my child. Do I still need to write my wife's name and ITIN at the top of the 1040 form? It says that space is for use only when filing a joint return, but she did not have any income for 2007 and does not need to file a return. I know in order to claim her as an exemption the IRS would need her name and ITIN. I know I need to put my child's name and SSN in the space for dependents. Any clarification on this would be great.

Thanks

ASN
    odobson Posts: 5, Reputation: 1

Apr 11, 2008, 11:32 AM
    If you file with your wife name on top of the form then you need to file jointly regardless if she has any income. If she has no income the she is still your dependent - and you show only your income. The IRS looks at the income per household. I am not sure if you can in fact call your wife a 'dependent'. A dependent by law is a child under 18 or a parent that lives in your household. The fastest way to find out 100% if your wife is your dependent is to make a phone call to an H&R place. Hope this helps
    asn234 Posts: 17, Reputation: 1

Apr 11, 2008, 11:42 AM
    Thanks for your reply.