Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Chinki Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Apr 8, 2008, 02:47 PM
    Resident doctor on J1 do I get tax exemption in the 2nd year of filing
    I am a resident doctor in PA and in my 2nd year. I am on J1 visa from India. Am I eligible for tax exemption? I f I have filed my taxes is it possible to correct them with the exemption, if applicable?
    MukatA Posts: 7,110, Reputation: 176
    Tax Expert

Apr 9, 2008, 04:33 AM
    Every one on J1 visa is exempt form Social Security and Medicare taxes for two years. If you are considered a trainee, then you have treaty benefit for two years. You will file nonresident tax return, get personal exemption and standard deduction (as per treaty).

Read Your U.S. Tax Return: U.S. Tax Treaties for Students and Apprentices

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

(resident + non-resident alien) married filing jointly [ 1 Answers ]

I'm on F1 (non-resident alien) and spouse is resident alien. First time, we are making election to be treated as resident for tax year 2007. 1) do I need to pay back FICA (social secuity & medicare taxes) that were not withheld on my summer income in 2007? 2) since we need to attach a...

B1 status changed to J1 visa , filing tax as non resident vs resident [ 4 Answers ]

Hi. I have been in the US for 1.5 years. I arrived on July 2006 to work as a physician alien and research scholar. I was previously in the US partially for at least 6 months each of the previous years from 2002 to 2005 on a B1 visa. When I came to the US in 2006 I had a J1 visa. I filled last...

Tax filing for resident & non resident states [ 1 Answers ]