Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    aileen910 Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Apr 5, 2008, 10:03 AM
    College student w/o w-2 but can I file tax to get college tuition credits back?
    Hi, I am a college student with no job income(no W-2 form) but do have few dollars of interest earned from saving account(1099-INT form). I know I do not have to file tax return since the income is extremely low. But I heard if I file tax return then I can get few hundreds of college tuition credits back since I paid almost $25000 for my tuition last year. I paid out of my own ocket, not from my parents or others. I live in New York City and I do not know if it makes any difference. Thanks so much for any input!
    MukatA Posts: 7,110, Reputation: 176
    Tax Expert

Apr 5, 2008, 11:13 AM
    Tution and Fees deduction up to $4,000 (for 2007) is allowed as adjustment to the income (on line 34 of Form 1040). But since you don't have taxable income, this adjustment is of no use to you.

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

Ex not paying college tuition? [ 3 Answers ]

Can my ex refuse to pay for our son's college tuition even though it is in the divorce that we each pay 50%? He says he doesn't have the money and probably can't get a loan due to negative equity on his house... Is it worth it to take him to court?

We are co-signers for college age daughter's student loan - tax credit? [ 1 Answers ]

Our daughter goes to school out of state. Part of her tuition is paid through scholarships, part is through federal student loans (through FAFSA) and part is through a bank collegiate loan in her name co-signed by us. She doesn't have any income. Can we claim this on our joint return or does...

Credit for work experience and college credits [ 8 Answers ]