Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Tugela Posts: 66, Reputation: 1

Feb 9, 2006, 06:04 AM
    Avg Free
    I have installed AVG Free virus scanner but now I cannot receive or send emails from outlook express. If I close AVG then I can get mail
    Any ideas - I'm running Windows XP
    Thanks
    NeedKarma Posts: 10,635, Reputation: 1706
    Uber Member

Feb 9, 2006, 06:12 AM
    I've been using AVG Free for about 3 years now with no problems with the email scanning plugin. You could try uninstalling it and reinstalling the most current version at http://free.grisoft.com/doc/2/lng/us/tpl/v5

Feb 9, 2006, 06:19 AM
    I have done that twice now and still get the same thing happening.
    Could it be that I have norton running as well, even though I closed down the email scanner from norton I still could not get my mail
    Would ZoneAlarm affect it at all?
    Thanks
    Uber Member

Feb 9, 2006, 06:28 AM
    Absolutely (about Norton). You should never have 2 AV programs running at the same time.
    fredg Posts: 4,926, Reputation: 674
    Ultra Member

Feb 9, 2006, 10:49 AM
    Hi,
    I got rid of Norton a year ago, in favor of AVG.
    AVG is much, much better, easier to use, more updates daily, and really catches most anything that it should. Some viruses did get past Norton, but none have gotten past AVG.
    My suggestion? Uninstall Norton. Best of luck.
    JoeCanada76 Posts: 6,669, Reputation: 1707
    Uber Member

Feb 9, 2006, 11:43 AM
    Fred is right. Uninstall Norton. Norton is bad bad bad for you and your computer. Avg will take care of everything. Try that get Norton off your system completely and just run one virus protector which is AVG and you should be in the clear.

Feb 10, 2006, 04:32 AM
    Thanks guys you are a great help
    giggles Posts: 143, Reputation: 27

Feb 10, 2006, 12:47 PM