Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    manochas Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Feb 8, 2006, 10:24 PM
    F1 student on CPT
    Hey,
    I am working on CPT and my earnings from this job is just below 10,000$ and about 1000$ from school in the year 2005. I am an indian student.My employer didn't deduct any taxes from my internship but my school did deduct some money.

My question is am I eligible for taxes because last year I earned about 1500 and I filed for refund, but I don't know what shuld I do now as my earnings are high. I don't know how to calculate taxes if I have t pay

Thanks
    Reply soon
    AtlantaTaxExpert Posts: 21,836, Reputation: 846
    Senior Tax Expert

Feb 9, 2006, 03:13 PM
    Manochas:

If your visa status was F-1 for all of 2005 and you entered the country in 2001 or later on the F-1 visa, then you are still a non-resident alien and must file Form 1040NR or 1040NR-EZ and Form 8843.

Answer this post if you converted to H-1 visa during 2005 for additional guidance.

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

F1 student taxas [ 1 Answers ]

I lived in US as an F1 student for more than 5 years. I tried using CINTAX tax service through my international office website but for some reason the system is not allowing me to file my taxes suing that software. I have been able to file my taxes using the same software in the past. Please let me...

F-1 student tax [ 5 Answers ]

Hello I have a question. Im an F-1 student. I graduated in May 2005. I have been working on OPT since June all the way until the end of the year. That makes me qualified to file tax as a non-resident. Ok I earned an amount of 4200 on W-2 (not on H-1, its F-1)with federal tax 225 and state...

Student Nurse [ 6 Answers ]