Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Raymonator Posts: 33, Reputation: 4

Mar 25, 2008, 12:54 PM
    Replacing bedroom and closet doors.
    I have very plain hollow bedroom and closet doors which I'd like to replace one by one. I'm looking at the more modern doors that have a colonial design pattern on both sides but are also hollow.
    Do I have to replace the door jams/frame too, or can I just take off the old and install the new ones ? I'm assuming I'd have to make new holes for the door knobs, as well as inset at the rear of each door so that the hinges are flush with the rear of each door.
    I've never done this before, so bare with me. :rolleyes:
    KISS Posts: 12,510, Reputation: 839
    Uber Member

Mar 25, 2008, 01:27 PM
    You have the right idea. There are jigs/toolset for doing the locks. If you need to replace the hinges, look for something that will fit the old hinge pattern. It's highly likely that interior doors don't come with jambs.

Typically you'll have to cut the doors to fit the opening unless the doors are custom.

You will have to do the hinges and the locks. Some locksets and hinges are easier than others. The hinges will be the most critical. If you have to mortise a lot of doors, consider a router rather than a chisel.

Mar 25, 2008, 05:39 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by KeepItSimpleStupid
    You have the right idea. There are jigs/toolset for doing the locks. If you need to replace the hinges, look for something that will fit the old hinge pattern. It's highly likely that interior doors don't come with jambs.

Typically you'll have to cut the doors to fit the opening unless the doors are custom.

You will have to do the hinges and the locks. Some locksets and hinges are easier than others. The hinges will be the most critical. If you have to mortise a lot of doors, consider a router rather than a chisel.