Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    crazygnome Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Mar 19, 2008, 08:44 AM
    Arrorest trouble
    Hi

I am a rookie at archery but I try :)

I have a compound bow and a prong arrorrest. The thing is that when I shoot the arrors gets thorn by the rest. I can shoot maybe 10 times then the fins on the arrow is almost destroyed. I have tried to adjust it to my best knowledge but its still not good. The arrows is pretty good quality and when I shoot it goes quite straight (no fishtailing).

I hope you can understand my English

Peter
    oneguyinohio Posts: 1,302, Reputation: 196
    Ultra Member

Mar 19, 2008, 08:53 AM
    I don't know if this information will be helpful, because I am only a beginner at archery as well.

First, are you lining your arrows up properly with the feathers... and guide feathers to the outside. One side should have a different color pattern if they are like mine.

Another suggestion would be to take your bad arrows to an archery shop and explain it to them. They might know more specifics about the set up you are using.

For target practice, I have shot the same arrows a hundred times without damage to the feathers. My problem is when the shaft gets damaged.

It might also be the amount of pressure your bow is set at depending on the type of arrows you are using.
    crazygnome Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Mar 19, 2008, 11:08 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by oneguyinohio
    I don't know if this information will be helpful, because I am only a beginner at archery as well.

First, are you lining your arrows up properly with the feathers... and guide feathers to the outside. One side should have a different color pattern if they are like mine.

Another suggestion would be to take your bad arrows to an archery shop and explain it to them. They might know more specifics about the set up you are using.