Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    confused1960 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Feb 3, 2006, 06:14 AM
    Workplace accident
    Is there a law that an accident report must be filled out when someone falls at work? Three people have fallen in my workplace now in the last 5 months because of water or soup on floor (I work in a restaurant). The one girl hit her head pretty hard but employer says he does not make out accident reports because he does not have the insurance.
    CaptainForest Posts: 3,645, Reputation: 393
    Ultra Member

Feb 3, 2006, 06:20 AM
    Where do you live?

Here in Ontario, all employers MUST have insurance through WSIB (Workplace Safety and Insurance Board).

Where do you live?
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Feb 3, 2006, 06:36 AM
    YOu did not state where you are at, Iraq? Mexico? The USA?

I will say first each state has its own regulations that change almost monthy as to health and safety issues. There should be state approved hour and wage posters along with a workers comp poster on the wall in your work place. These normally state requirements for an accident.

In general, ( very general) unless there is a reportable INJURY not accident there is no need for a report. And in some areas this injury would be one that required medical treatment beyond a band aid or a over the counter pain pill.

Now a lot of businesses want you to report any accident and tell employees to do so.

As for as insurance, in the US, a business is not required to have workers comp though an insurance company, but if they don't they are still legally liable but have to pay the bills for any injury. So if this girl had asked to go to the doctor or hospital, they would have to let her go and they would have had to pay the bill.

Also an employee can always contact the workers comp board of their state and file an accident report directly with them if there is an reportable injury ( requireing medical attention)