Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    tyjordan34 Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Feb 3, 2006, 06:11 AM
    Windows 98/Harddrive Question
    Good Morning,

If anyone would be able to assist me I would greatly appreciate it. My PC just stop powering on all of a sudden. I was wondering if I can just go by another hard drive or do I have to install a brand new mother board all together. In addition, is there anyway I can retrieve data from my current hard drive. My PC has FAT 32, I am a beginner when it comes to computers.

Also, I have another PC that was up and operative during a power outage. This PC powers up, but sounds as if it is trying to read from one of the drives, but there was not anything in none of the drives at the time of the power outage, Moreover, my monitor is receiving power, but nothing is appearing on it until 10 seconds later it shows on the screen Message, No Signal I have only had this PC for a year and my manufacture warranty has expired, Therefore I did not wish to pay a large sum of money to have this fixed. Please advise Thanks
    NeedKarma Posts: 10,635, Reputation: 1706
    Uber Member

Feb 3, 2006, 06:21 AM
    If all you havd was a hard drive failure then the computer would still boot up but the boot up process would stop and you would see a message similar to "Error reading boot drive" or "Disk Boot Failure". The message depends on your bios.

If you turn on the computer and hear no sound at all form the power supply fan then that may be the problem. The good news would be that your data is safe on your hard drive. Simply install the HD as slave in another PC to access your data.
    tyjordan34 Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Feb 3, 2006, 09:30 PM
    My PC does boot up as normal, but it sounds like it is trying to obtain informaiton from one of the drives, and the number lock key is not lighting up on the keyboard, but the green light appears on the front of the monitor then goes back to an amber color within 3seconds any suggestions?