Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Phredryk Posts: 6, Reputation: 2

Mar 17, 2008, 08:46 AM
    AutoCAD Minimal Text Heights?
    I'm currently a Drafting student learning everything about AutoCAD, but... I'm having trouble finding the smallest text height (which I believe is standard) that is legible that should ever be used on a drawing. Help would be great Thanks! :D
    amricca Posts: 851, Reputation: 92

Mar 17, 2008, 08:49 AM
    Typically text height on a drawing should be about 1/8" - 3/32". In autocad at 1/4" = 1'-0" scale that is a 4 1/2" height. At 1/8" scale it is 9" text height.

Mar 17, 2008, 08:53 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by amricca
    Typically text height on a drawing should be about 1/8" - 3/32". In autocad at 1/4" = 1'-0" scale that is a 4 1/2" height. At 1/8" scale it is 9" text height.
    Yes I know that, ;) but this is for an electrical drawing where I need to show GFIs and WPs next to outlets, which are supposed to be smaller than 3/32"
    amricca Posts: 851, Reputation: 92

Mar 17, 2008, 08:57 AM
    I wouldn't go less than 1/16" or it will be too hard to read.

Mar 17, 2008, 09:04 AM
    Thanks :) you have been very helpful. I believe 1/16" is the smallest allowed
    Renman521 Posts: 24, Reputation: 2

Apr 4, 2008, 05:41 PM
    When using text that small, you might also want to consider a thinner pen size when plotting.

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

Excel 15 digit issue, tried converting to text, text to column feature negates fix [ 6 Answers ]

I have the following numbers that exceed 15 characters that needs to be split into its own columns. Down the road, there would be thousands of such rows of data with the first couple set of unique numbers. 890432453253208820,5004500558,05CC,1,0,0,0,0,0,0, 0000,5.0000,2007-01-11...