Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    personanongrata Posts: 0, Reputation: 1

Mar 14, 2008, 10:27 AM
    Rude comments about my grey hair
    I apologize if this is not the correct forum. I'm a new user and I thought this forum was closest to my topic.

I'm a 37-year-old guy, and I have a lot of grey hair coming in. I work as a lawyer, and I guess I get a lot of stress in my life. Anyway, I was at a wedding and met some relatives on my wife's side that I had never met before. I was making small talk with this older guy, he was in his 50's and had snow white hair. As way of background, I am the type of guy who is painfully polite to others; I would never think about being rude or insulting them, especially strangers. Barely 1 minute into our conversation, he looks at me and says "You look awfully young to have so much grey hair." This isn't the first time I've heard this comment about my hair. Ever since I was 20, some people have felt the urge to make unsolicited comments about my hair. They just blurt it out, like I'm unaware or something. Anyway, I tried to laugh it off, make a joke of it, but it really bothers me when people do that. My sister in law has also cracked jokes about my hair.

How do I handle people who make rude comments about my grey hair. :(
    HistorianChick Posts: 2,556, Reputation: 825
    Ultra Member

Mar 14, 2008, 10:43 AM
    Personally, I think grey hair is distinguished, dashing, 007-ish and sexy, but other people don't agree.

If the comments about your hair bother you too much, you can always fix it by coloring your grey... Its good that it is a "fixable" thing - if you don't want to put up with it, you can change it in a few minutes.

But honestly, I think you should just tell them that you like it and your wife likes it, that's all that matters.
    N0help4u Posts: 19,823, Reputation: 2035
    Uber Member

Mar 14, 2008, 10:58 AM
    I have had a few friends in my life that started graying in their 20's