Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    smarttart Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Mar 13, 2008, 08:59 AM
    How to get into Harvard Business School
    Hello,
    I'm a sophomore in college and will be finishing my AA degree with about a 3.5 GPA this Spring. I'll be transferring to a state university and after getting my BA in Business, I'd like to apply to either Harvard Business and/or Sloan. However, I'm a little uninformed as to how I would meet their expectations of students. I will be expecting to get about a 3.75 GPA at the university I'll be attending, and I'm looking into a faculty-led trip to China during my latter college years there, but what else can I do to make myself "stand out" from the nearly 80% of applicants that are rejected? I've looked into the GMAT and although I haven't taken a practice test or anything of that sort, I plan on studying (and taking multiple tests, if necessary) to score above the 700 mark. Any other suggestions that would tip the scale in my favor? Thanks!
    ebaines Posts: 12,131, Reputation: 1307
    Expert

Mar 13, 2008, 09:40 AM
    You might want to get a job first and apply after a year or two experience in the business world. Harvard or any of the top B schools want students who can bring their work experiences to class. That's why the average age of the incoming business school class is around 27 or so (maybe higher? I'm not sure the exact number). Try and build a strong resume that shows elements of leadership, ability to work with people, and some success in the business world.
    SBU Posts: 51, Reputation: 3

Apr 12, 2008, 09:30 PM