Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    adamjtucker Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Jan 31, 2006, 08:33 AM
    Help needed with broken toilet flush
    Hi,

I wonder if anyone can help me with my temperamental toilet flush? I'm not good with terminology but I'll try my best to explain!

After flushing my toilet, the pump mechanism often doesn't re-descend into its hole. It flushes OK, but the next time you need to flush, the handle needs wiggling or forcing upwards in order to send the pump back down so it can be flushed again.

This would be OK, except all the extra pressure tends to eventually loosen the linkage between the handle and pump mechanism until it falls off. Then, it's off with the cistern lid to ease it all back into place until it happens again!

I've tried a few things like changing the arm for a longer one to try and get the linkage to hang straighter, but no luck.

Can anyone help with this?

My toilet flush looks a little different from most diagrams on the internet - I think it might be a UK type! The image for STEP 2 in the link below is the clearest example I can find:

http://www.uktvstyle.co.uk/index.cfm...aid/2556.shtml

Hope someone out there can help!

Adam
    speedball1 Posts: 29,301, Reputation: 1939
    Eternal Plumber

Feb 1, 2006, 07:35 AM
    Hi Adam,
    , Sounds like your flapper linkage needs adjusting.