Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    stephanie_h Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Jan 31, 2006, 03:54 AM
    Student Nurse
    Hi there, I'm a student nurse coming up to the end of my first year. Im quite worried as I think I may have a phobia or some kind of anxiety towards veins. I know that it is not just needles or blood as I can give IM injections, removed cannulas and have dealt with blood... it is just the thought of anything going into the veins that I find hard to deal with and become anxious and dizzy or sick. I have now fainted twice watching a cannula being inserted and blood being taken, Is there anyway of overcoming this? The kind of ward I am on now, there is no avoiding it

Thanks

Stephanie
    bizygurl Posts: 522, Reputation: 110

Jan 31, 2006, 04:45 AM
    Its hard to say. Sometimes in order to get over a phobia like this, youhave to do it over and over again until it becomes almost second nature to you. If you do this then at some point you won't even have to think about it and you will just do it.
    I have just started to go back to school for Medical Assisting. And while there are things that I may have difficult time with, I know that I just have to push myself through it and overcome it.
    If you look at how many doctors in medical school pass out over the course of there education but end up getting over it and becoming doctors, I know you could do it.
    Actually that's what a lot of therapist tell there patients who have phobias. Do the things that your scared of over and over again, and ounce you realize its all in your head and that there really isn't anything to worry about, you can overcome it. Good luck, you can do it.
    fredg Posts: 4,926, Reputation: 674
    Ultra Member

Jan 31, 2006, 05:56 AM
    Hi,
    As the other very good answer said, talking with others about it often helps.
    It's something that can be overcome, hopefully.