Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    seesbeyond Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Mar 9, 2008, 10:02 AM
    My Dog Won't sleep through the night!
    We have 2 dogs. Our little female Papillon sleeps though the night great! We have crates in our room for the 2 dogs. Our little male Pap won't sleep through the night. They are both treated the same during the day, both go to bed at the same time. But the male gets up every 1 1/2 hours to 3 hours and wants to go outside or play. I take him out to do his business, then put him back to bed, no treats, no playtime to try to get him to see it is sleep time.. he just won't get it! Please help!!
    rachel101 Posts: 77, Reputation: 19

Mar 9, 2008, 12:00 PM
    I'm not a dog expert or anything but I do currently have 3 of them and I've found that if I take my lab out every time she goes to the door and asks to go out then she would ask every 20 minutes or so, yet when I'm gone from the house for a 10 hour stretch she doesn't have a problem waiting for me to get home.
    I would say that if your male cannot make it through the night without having an accident in his crate then he has a medical problem. If he can make it through the night then it's just a case of him telling you he wants to keep playing and running the show and as long as you keep allowing him to do that... he will keep doing it. Have you tried just ignoring him and letting him learn that the behavior he's practicing will not get him out for play time in the middle of the night?
    seesbeyond Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Mar 9, 2008, 12:51 PM
    That would be great if he didn't sleep right next to me.. he yelps and yelps till I let him out. If I put the crate in a different room he howls and wakes up the whole house. When he was a puppy, I expected him to go out more often.. and again, I do not play with him or give him treats. He is to go out do his business, come in and go straight back to bed.
    But thank you for your input!