Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    tbakry Posts: 18, Reputation: 1

Mar 8, 2008, 04:19 PM
    How do I import data in SQL Server Management Studio Express 2005
    I am still a bit of a noob with SQL, but, when I use Enterprise Manager with my SQL 2000 server at the office, it is pretty simple to import data from pretty much any data source. I have not been able to locate the Transform facility in the 2005 express software that I downloaded onto my home PC (to help me learn SQL). Did I not install something that I need? Or am I just missing what I am looking for? The net question is, how do I import data?

Thanks,

Tom
    chuckhole Posts: 850, Reputation: 45

Mar 11, 2008, 08:40 PM
    If you are using the MSDE at home, you will not be able to do much through a MMC Snapin such as the Enterprise Manger for SQL.

However, not all is lost. You can still connect to your database via an ODBC connection using the SQL driver. You can connect to your data using MS Access or even Excel. Once you are able to access the data, you can import data using the MS Access import utilities. You can place data into your tables from CSV text files, Excel spreadsheets, other Access tables, etc. If you like this method, you can use it to do the same with your SQL Server tables.

The Management Studio is primarily geared towards DB management, security and maintenance. Data import/export is not the strong point.
    katmaiguy Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Jun 7, 2008, 08:20 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by tbakry
    I am still a bit of a noob with SQL, but, when I use Enterprise Manager with my SQL 2000 server at the office, it is pretty simple to import data from pretty much any data source. I have not been able to locate the Transform facility in the 2005 express software that I downloaded onto my home pc (to help me learn SQL). Did I not install something that I need? or am I just missing what I am looking for? The net question is, how do I import data?

Thanks,

Tom