Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    sp6 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Mar 4, 2008, 08:41 AM
    1099 Misc and W2 form (social security withheld), F1-visa
    Hello there!

Will really appreciate if someone can help me with filing of my tax return for 2008.

I am on F1-visa, Nationality Indian. I worked in a company as CO-OP (practical training) while I was in school. I graduated in summer and joined the same company on October as independent contractor. I therefore received both W2 and 1099 Misc forms from my company.

1099Misc -
    From my research so far, I understand that the amount earned as independent contractor should appear in box-7 under nonemployee compensation. However, my 1099 Misc contains the amount mentioned in box-3 as other income. I want to ask you should I still file Schedule C form for the same. Also, Can I deduct my traveling expenditure to the job location from my home as other expenses, though I did not have a car I use local commuting services for the same.

W2 form -
    My W2 form shows a Social Security tax withheld and Medicare withheld. Are we supposed to pay social security tax and medicare tax while working on F1-visa (both on CPT and OPT).

Kindly guide your response will be highly appreciated.

RegardsThanks
    Sp
    Ammama Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Mar 4, 2008, 08:54 AM
    Where can I get a Copy of my W-2 for free and on line?

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

Social Security Tax not withheld [ 4 Answers ]

I will be working overseas for 1 year as a consultant. My employer will not withhold any taxes, including FICA. How do I pay file and pay the Medicare tax next year at tax time?

Social Security & Medicare Taxwes Wrongly Withheld [ 1 Answers ]