Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Jac.Bower Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Jan 25, 2006, 07:20 AM
    Writ of Garnishment (Bank Account)
    If A writ of Garnishment is issued by a court in Texas can the plaintiff execute this garnishment on my bank account in New York?
    I am a resident of Texas but when I moved from New york I never changed banks. My bank is also not available anywhere in the State of Texas. Can the creditor still take my money?:eek:
    mr.yet Posts: 1,725, Reputation: 176
    Ultra Member

Jan 25, 2006, 07:29 AM
    Texas
    If your account is in Texas, and the attachment is issued in Texas, signed by a judge, than they can do it. If your account was in New York, than no, They must file in New York, They would have to summit it to a court in NY.

Jan 25, 2006, 09:26 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by mr.yet
    If your account is in Texas, and the attachment is issued in Texas, signed by a judge, than they can do it. If your account was in New York, than no, They must file in New York, They would have to summit it to a court in NY.
    Thank you for the quick response. Another question... Is garnishment for credit card debt, applicable to savings accounts as well or is it just for checking accounts?
    mr.yet Posts: 1,725, Reputation: 176
    Ultra Member

Jan 25, 2006, 09:30 AM
    Accounts
    Any and all accoounts at that bank, even if you have 2 or more they will attach up to the total of the garnishment
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Jan 25, 2006, 01:28 PM
    Garnishment
    Please remember it is no problem to present the order of garnishment (attachment) to a court in another state and have it ruled on. So if they have already got a garnishment issues in one state, they will carry it to another state, it is not that big of deal to get it honored normally by another state.