Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    wilddog27 Posts: 22, Reputation: 2

Feb 15, 2008, 03:08 PM
    My teeth ache
    My teeth ache anytime I do a lot of jogging or running. Not like a sensitive tooth pain. They ache all over. Anyone know what it is or can it be fixed
    jillianleab Posts: 1,194, Reputation: 279
    Ultra Member

Feb 15, 2008, 04:02 PM
    I'm no professional, but it could have to do with the puffing in and out of cold air (assuming it's cold where you are running). Then again, sometimes our bodies react in strange ways to strenuous exercise...

Is your oral health otherwise pretty good? Do you brush, floss, use fluoride mouthwash and visit the dentist on a regular basis? You could try switching to a toothpaste for sensitive teeth as well.

We have a dentistry expert here - hopefully she will pop on and give you more info!
    peggyhill Posts: 907, Reputation: 150

Feb 15, 2008, 04:25 PM
    jillianleab makes a good point about the cold air. I have had that happen to me before when running in the winter.

This is a website that has been helpful to me in the past.

http://www.wrongdiagnosis.com/sympto...pain/comon.htm

Just look at the list and see what type of pain matches yours, then you can look at possible causes and their other symptoms. Of course, I'm not telling you to try to diagnose yourself with the internet, we all know that isn't a good idea! But, it may help you get an idea of what the cause could be. If it continues, I would see a doctor and a dentist, better safe than sorry and all. Hope you feel better soon!
    flossie Posts: 1,903, Reputation: 181
    Ultra Member

Feb 15, 2008, 07:16 PM
    It could be your sinuses. Do you have a cold or any sinus problems? The roots of the upper teeth sit quite close to the sinus and when the sinus is infected it can sit right on the tips of the roots. Patients often come in with toothaches that end up being contributed to a sinus infection.