Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    [email protected] Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Jan 19, 2006, 07:22 PM
    Page cannot be displayed
    I am new to this thing called computer. I have been having trouble viewing web pages or even purchasing anything online. When I get to the checkout it tells me page cannot be displayed. When I try to use enternet explorer I get page cannot be displayed. I have checked browser and it is set on medium and is at default level. So could some of this program been deleted or is just not set right?
    LTheobald Posts: 1,051, Reputation: 127
    Ultra Member

Jan 20, 2006, 02:32 AM
    Do you get this problem on just one certain site? If it only happens on one certain page, then the chances are that the page you are trying to access has the problem - not your PC.

Also, off subject but if you are new to computers & the internet, I would just like to say the words "virus scanner", "spyware protection" and possibly "firewall". If those mean nothing to you, let us know. It'll be very useful in the future for ensuring your PC is safe & secure.
    fredg Posts: 4,926, Reputation: 674
    Ultra Member

Jan 20, 2006, 05:52 AM
    Hi, Gail,
    Do you use AOL?
    If so, I would call them and talk with Support. They could guide you through the settings you need. This should not be happening. If your Security for IE is set to Medium, then you should be able to view pages, and "check out" in secure zones. As another said, if it's happening at just one site, then it's probably the site. But, if happening as you indicate, at many, then call your Internet Service Provider, and ask them. They could probably help you find the problem more quick. I do wish you the best of luck.
    NeedKarma Posts: 10,635, Reputation: 1706
    Uber Member

Jan 20, 2006, 05:56 AM