Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Scottish2008 Posts: 501, Reputation: 32

Jan 31, 2008, 08:20 AM
    Military physical fitness
    I have been serving for over 12 years and I was just reading an article about what the standards should be for physical fitness. I was so disgusted with what they believe the standard should be. It seems to me they lower the standard every year. I will admit I am in shape and I take care of myself. But I am sick and tired of seeing other military personal over weight. It also stated that this standard is right across the board regardless of what trade they are in. How can this be? I see way to many people in the military that are over weight. Why doesn't the higher ups fix this problem. It does make the military look bad. And to think that If I am over seas and I for some reason get shout, would this person being over weight be able to assist me by pulling me back to safety?
    Does anyone else agree with me on this?
    RickJ Posts: 7,762, Reputation: 864
    Uber Member

Jan 31, 2008, 08:30 AM
    Sadly so many things are dumbed down nowadays.

I do believe, though, that the standards are higher for combat related MOS's, aren't they?

Jan 31, 2008, 08:35 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by RickJ
    Sadly so many things are dumbed down nowadays.

I do believe, though, that the standards are higher for combat related MOS's, aren't they?
    They do have higher standards for different MOC but still the standard is not meet by most people in the military.
    excon Posts: 21,482, Reputation: 2992
    Uber Member

Jan 31, 2008, 09:01 AM
    Hello Scotty:

I, of course, was in excellent shape. But in the Navy, once you got out of boot camp and aboard ship, the calisthenics were over. In Nam, I fought my war by pushing buttons. You don't have to be in great shape to do that.

I don't know if things have changed, but I'll bet not.

excon
    shygrneyzs Posts: 5,017, Reputation: 936
    Uber Member

Jan 31, 2008, 09:03 AM