Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    stereodee Posts: 5, Reputation: 1

Jan 30, 2008, 10:47 PM
    Another F1 student - Private International Student Loan on 1040-NR-EZ
    I'm in my fourth year of college as an international student. I filed 1040-NR-EZ since my first year since I always had a small income coming from on-campus employment. I financed these past two years of school with Sallie Mae International Student Loans and I was wondering if those will influence my filing this year. I haven't started paying them yet, but interest has already accumulated. Should I enter the interest in Point 9 of the 1040-NR-EZ? I guess the answer is no since I'm still and nonresident alien and since I haven't started paying these loans back... but please, feel free to correct me if I'm wrong.
    AtlantaTaxExpert Posts: 21,836, Reputation: 846
    Senior Tax Expert

Feb 1, 2008, 10:07 PM
    You CAN deduct student loan interest as a non-resident alien.

The interest accrues every year, and you deduct the interest when it accrues, NOT when you pay it.
    stereodee Posts: 5, Reputation: 1

Feb 1, 2008, 11:12 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by AtlantaTaxExpert
    You CAN deduct student loan interest as a non-resident alien.

The interest accrues every year, and you deduct the interest when it accrues, NOT when you pay it.
    Oh. That's good to hear... bur when I log into my creditor's site and click on "Get your 1098-E Deductible Interest Letter" I get to a page that claims that "Although I may have paid interest in 2007, it is ineligible for a tax deduction". Does this have to do with the fact that it's a private loan and not a Stafford? I'm not sure. Should I give them a call?
    Senior Tax Expert

Feb 2, 2008, 12:15 AM
    If the loan is for student expenses ONLY, it does NOT have to be a Stafford loan.

Give them a call.
    The Texas Tax Expert Posts: 310, Reputation: 7

Feb 2, 2008, 04:55 PM