Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    interinfinity Posts: 142, Reputation: 8

Jan 25, 2008, 01:59 PM
    ITT Tech vs Traditional college
    I wanted to get some opinions on finishing a bachelors in ITT tech vs getting a degree from a university. I have an associates degree in computer programming from ITT technical institute, and I have an associates degree from a community college in general science (yes I wasted a lot of time). I want to go for a bachelors degree, and am split between finishing up at Louisiana State University or at an ITT tech. what are some pros and cons. ITT tech appeals to me because the curriculum is so much more technology and hands on oriented. I do know from experience that the classes were a lot more basic than I expected them to be. I also don't know how employers look at ITT tech. If I were to go to a university I would plan on electrical engineering, and would like to get a masters in software engineering.
    Synnen Posts: 7,927, Reputation: 2443
    Expert

Jan 25, 2008, 02:24 PM
    The ONLY reason I would stay away from ITT Tech is that it does NOT have regional accreditation.

That means that if you tried to use that degree to get your Master's later, you wouldn't be able to through a traditional college. The credits are worthless to a traditional college, because they can not be transferred without risking THAT school's accreditation.

So... since you plan on getting your Master's degree, I would go to a traditional college. There are MANY that have hands-on curriculums. I suggest contacting the engineering department of several close to you and asking if you could meet with an advisor to talk about what you'd like to do, and how you'd like to learn.
    karent23 Posts: 133, Reputation: 8

Feb 1, 2008, 07:02 AM