Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    haimiah Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Jan 11, 2006, 01:24 AM
    Switching fuses to breaker
    Hello, I just bought my first home with my wife. The house has an old fusebox, which both my wife and I hate the thought of having to deal with. We want to switch over to a breaker box, but I have never done this before, so I have some info and some questions...

First of all, is this something an novice can do?
    Is it as simple as taking one box down and switching wires?
    How big of a breaker box will I need? We are both kind of gadget freaks, so there will be lots of stuff in the house and the garage, including an air compressor that needs 220.

The house also has old 2 prong outlets, and I have read up on gfi outlets, I have a few questions about them also. If I want to convert the entire house to 3 prong outlets, so I need only one gfi in a room? Or do I need to put one in every outlet. How can I tell which is the lead outlet, or does it matter?
    Also the outside outlets need to be replaced, what am I looking for when buying an outlet to replace it with?

Any help would be much appreciated, we are trying to penny pinch since money is tight right now anyway, but if I need to pay an electrician to do it I will. Not worth burning my new house down.

Ps if you need pics of anything, let me know :D I can get them

Thank you
    RickJ Posts: 7,762, Reputation: 864
    Uber Member

Jan 11, 2006, 04:24 AM
    It's a big deal.

You should get some electricians in for an estimate for the whole job. Stick with them the whole time and ask questions... You may find that you're able to do some of it yourself...

1. You probably want 150-200 amp service, but that may require a new "drop" - the wiring coming off the city supply.

2. Also, sounds like you've got old "knob and tube" wiring throughout your house. And if you do, and there have not been upgrades, then nothing is grounded.