Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    lo-t Posts: 6, Reputation: 1

Jan 9, 2006, 01:02 PM
    SmartPhone Deduction?
    Hi all! First post...

I'm thinking of upgrading my cell phone to a "SmartPhone" (able to run Word, Excel, Outlook, browse internet, etc.). I work in the IT industry and would be doing this to help me in doing my job, however my employer does not provide my cell phone nor will they purchase the new phone for me. I do use my personal cell phone throughout the day - having my desk phone forward to it.

The purchase of the phone would be a few hundred dollars, and the upgraded plan that allows data network connectivity would cost me appx. $40 per month.

I'm wondering if I can deduct either component from my taxes next year? And if so, how to determine what portion of the phone and plan can be deducted.

26 yrs. Old and not a homeowner... never taken itemized deductions before so I'm new to the whole idea. Hence, I may be way off base in thinking it's even deductable. Thanks in advance.
    AtlantaTaxExpert Posts: 21,836, Reputation: 846
    Senior Tax Expert

Jan 10, 2006, 07:20 AM
    LO-T:

The phone's cost plus the extra charge for the data transmission would be a valid deduction as an employee business expense. Unfortunately, those costs, combined with other miscellaneous deductions, must exceed 2% of your adjusted gross income to be counted. Then, on top of that, you have to itemize on Schedule A to claim them. Since you are not a home owner with a mortgage, it is very likely you will not be able to itemize.

Sorry!

Jan 10, 2006, 08:53 AM
    Thanks Atlanta...