Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    [email protected] Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Jan 9, 2006, 11:29 AM
    Removing Hijacking Files
    I am not a computer expert so I am in desperate need of help. I have three hijacking files: cws.feads, home search assistant, and sorry but I can not rememeber the name of the other file other than it starts with cws. I need to remove these files some how but my system keeps crashing. I did a complete recovery of the system and no help. I am running windows xp on a home computer from Compaq. I hope that someone can help. I recently changed from Qwest dial up service to Cox high speed internet service. My Microsoft uopdates can not even completely install because the system crashes. What can I do to remove these files? I had not had an antivirus software when I had dial connection and feel this could have been the problem.

Desparate:

:(
    Curlyben Posts: 18,514, Reputation: 1860
    BossMan

Jan 9, 2006, 11:45 AM
    Nice and easy really, just download and run CWS Shredder,Adaware and Spybot and this will remove this problem.

This kind of thing is dealt with in a lot of other threads in this forum.

Hope this helps

Next...

Instructions for use:
    Download and run SpyBot

Install the program and launch it.

Go to Start > Programs >Spybot > Search & Destroy and choose Spybot S&D

Close ALL windows except Spybot S&D
    Click the button to "Search for Updates" and download and install the Updates.
    Next click the button "Check for Problems"
    When Spybot is complete, it will be showing "RED" entries "BLACK" entries and "GREEN" (GREEN) entries in the window
    Put a check mark beside the RED entries ONLY.
    Choose "Fix Selected Problems" and allow Spybot to fix the RED entries.
    Reboot...

Next...

Download and run AD-Aware

Install the program and launch it.

1. Launch Ad-Aware SE and run the WebUpdate feature. (Click on the Globe icon > Click connect > Click OK > Click Finish.)