Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    deemgee Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Jan 16, 2008, 11:54 AM
    Do people still live in igloos ?
    I am a preschool teacher and the children would like to know if people still live in igloos. We read a story the other day about polar bears that also lived in an igloo. We decided that the story about the bears was fiction which lead us to the question about where the people of the north actually live. We would like to hear from someone that lives in the polar region where this might occur.
    firmbeliever Posts: 2,919, Reputation: 463
    Ultra Member

Jan 16, 2008, 12:45 PM
    Sorry I do not live up North or South for that matter I am in between and in a quite warm environment,but I did find some interesting things when I searched the net.:)

------------------------------------
    http://www.socialstudiesforkids.com/funfacts/igloo.htm

Most Eskimos Don't Live in Igloos

The igloo is the most common symbol identified with Eskimos, yet most Eskimos don't live in what most people think an igloo is.

Igloo is simply the Eskimo word for "house." So, technically, most eskimos DO live in igloos, as they define them, but not as most people think of them.

Mainly through the use of cartoons, people have long thought that Eskimos live in the rounded icehouses in order to keep warm in the cold climates in which they live. This might have been true originally, but it's not true now.

Nowadays, Eskimos live in wood, stone, and even cement buildings. They have heating devices that keep them warm in the colder months.
    ----------------------------------------
    You might want to check this site too.
    http://canadianwinter.ca/index.php?p...churchill_wild
    shygrneyzs Posts: 5,017, Reputation: 936
    Uber Member

Jan 16, 2008, 01:04 PM
    You are right that polar bears living in an igloo is pure fiction - how would they build such a dwelling?