Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    JJK Posts: 5, Reputation: 1

Jan 6, 2006, 10:23 AM
    Circuit breaker installation
    Hello,
    I'm attempting to do something that I've never tried before, Install a breaker switch. I'm using 12 Gauge wire and a 20 amp breaker switch. I definitely need some guidance in this. Is there anybody out there who can help me?
    RickJ Posts: 7,762, Reputation: 864
    Uber Member

Jan 6, 2006, 10:38 AM
    Do you mean a breaker in a breaker box (service panel)?

If so, have you already removed the cover to be sure there's space?

With the main breaker OFF:

Pull the wire into the box and attach the white one to the bar where all the other white ones are attached (anywhere is fine).

Put the black wire into the breaker and screw in the set screw that holds it in place. Not quite as tight as you can... but TIGHT.

Give it some good pulls to be sure it's not moving at all.

Now, getting the breaker in is a little different for different box types, but most will have you "tipping" the corner in, then pushing the breaker down onto a piece of metal where the connection is made.

Finally, you may need to punch out a piece of metal in the cover that allows the new breaker to stick through - before putting it back on.

Does this all make sense when looking at your breaker box and where you want to put the new breaker?

Jan 6, 2006, 11:12 AM
    Thank you for your reply!:) It describes my breaker box to a "T", I'll take your advice and go for it. What's the best way to punch out that metal plate that enables me to insert the breaker switch? Also, Do I have to shut off the main breaker switch to accomplish this? I was told by a friend of mine that all that I would need to do was keep the breaker switch in the off position.
    labman Posts: 10,580, Reputation: 551
    Uber Member

Jan 6, 2006, 11:59 AM