Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    floofybunny Posts: 6, Reputation: 1

Jan 5, 2008, 06:31 PM
    If I solder a small copper fitting will the heat melt the existing joints?
    I am new to soldering and am wondering if I solder to a fitting with an existing soldered joint will the heat re-melt the solder in the first joint?
    PalmMP3 Posts: 321, Reputation: 28

Jan 5, 2008, 06:59 PM
    First off, I should point out that the ideal procedure is that when soldering a given fitting, you should solder all of the joints made with it at the same time, so as to avoid such problems.

Having said that, I wouldn't worry too much if I were you - even if an existing joint does melt a bit, as long as you don't mess around with it, it will re-harden into place just as it should.

Have fun!
    Moishe
    labman Posts: 10,580, Reputation: 551
    Uber Member

Jan 5, 2008, 08:18 PM
    Part of the reason a plumber would get $50-$100 for a 5 minute job like that is that it would take him 5 minutes. Experience and aptitude count. Try it. If worst comes to worst, you can give up on it, and go buy a Shark Bite fitting. $10 or less gets you system back together. Try wraping wet rags on the joint you don't want to come apart.

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

Tips on copper compression fitting? [ 11 Answers ]

My problem is whenever I work with coppoer compression fittings, I never seem to get a good seal and something always leaks. Are there any tips on how to do it right? Should I use a hack saw verse my Reciprocating Saw to cut the tube? (SLow vs Fast). I know the cut has to be straight, then...

Copper Pipe Compression Fitting [ 7 Answers ]