Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    jessechenven Posts: 34, Reputation: 1

Jan 4, 2008, 11:35 AM
    Troubleshooting.
    I'm trying to trouble shoot an older computer I inherited. I am completely new to PCs. At any rate it has two problems that are possibly relateed.
    1. The image the monitor (I have tried 2 different working monitors) has a bunch of red (sometimes grey) vertical lines across the screen which distort the image.
    2. Bigger concern is that it will not boot properly. It gives me the page with the option to boot in safe mode, but if I select it it just reboots to DOS. I have tried rebooting from an original xp disk, but it took forever (many hours), and then when it was finished and rebooting (where it eventually gives you the setup page) it wouldn't boot.

I've tried replacing ram and using a different hard drive, but no luck. At first I thought it was something to do with the video card, because of the image problem, but that wouldn't explain the inability to boot would it? Anything else you can recommend?

I got this computer from my father who said it just stopped working one day.
    donf Posts: 5,679, Reputation: 582
    Printers & Electronics Expert

Jan 4, 2008, 02:37 PM
    Dah,

"Just stopped working one day?" Thank your dad on my behalf for sticking you with a challenge that will keep you up nights. :)

The video chip is probably toast, that's why you get image problems.

If you swapped in a new hard drive, then the PC should have taken the persona of the operating system on that disk. If it did not, then the drive controller may be toast as well.

Ask your dad if there were any electrical storms in the proximity when the PC went toes up.

Normally chip failures are caused by something extreme. To have two chips on the same motherboard puts the board at the top of my suspicion list. However, before you pull the board some basic safety precautions.