Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    ambermogirl Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Dec 28, 2005, 10:53 PM
    Medical issue got me fired.
    Hi, I was wondering if this is against labor laws. I started a new job 2 weeks ago and I did not tell them of a condition, in which no one knows what is, If I don't know what it is, how can I tell them I have it for one thing.
    Well, I had one of my spells, and they told me to bring in all my medical records and to call them in a few days. So I did and they still fired me, due to supposedly falsifying medical conditions. I don't see as to where I was falsifying anything. Can they actually fire me due to this?
    orange Posts: 1,364, Reputation: 197
    Ultra Member

Dec 29, 2005, 07:28 AM
    I'm not an expert on labour law and I don't know where you live, but I DO know that here in Canada, employers have no right to even ask you about medical conditions. Here you are under no obligation to reveal any medical problems, even things such as HIV status. And yes if you don't know what's wrong with you, you can hardly be falsifying documents by not telling them. In my opinion though they shouldn't have been asking you in the first place.
    nymphetamine Posts: 900, Reputation: 109

Dec 29, 2005, 10:10 AM