Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Germanizer Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Dec 28, 2007, 10:23 PM
    Change F-1 student into H-1 work visa
    Hi! I am a German citizen studying in the US. I have an US MS degree already, and I am thinking about applying for a job in the US. Can you switch from a F-1 student visa status to an H-1 visa status? I assume I'd have to have a job offer first!? What would be the procedure? What US agency would be responsible for that (or would that be my university's ISS office!? )? THANKS MUCH!
    ciresar Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Dec 29, 2007, 05:20 PM
    Hi! I can tell you how it worked for me.
    Every F1 visa includes one year of OPT (Optional Practical Training). You can use the time while you study (for instance during the summer) or after you finish your degree in the US. You apply for the OPT permit through the Office for International Students at your University. Most people use the year to find a company that wants to hire them and is willing to sponsor them for the H1b.
    When you find an employer who is willing to sponsor you, they (with a lawyer) take care of the paperwork. There are several steps, they take 1-2 months, and when the application is complete it is sent to the INS. The INS has a quota of H1b visas for each calendar year. They start 'giving them out' in January and sometimes they can run out of the visas earlier than December. When I applied they ran out in October and my visa was one of the last ones they approved. So it is important to start the process early in the year. If your job is in academia (as a university professor), there is no limit to the number of visas they approve.