Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    jeslyn54 Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Dec 21, 2007, 11:14 AM
    Heat not kicking on until the temp dips below 64 degrees, target temp set to 72
    Hello,

This is my first time posting here, but I figured it was a good place to start for some advice. I just bought a new townhouse a few weeks ago and have been having some heating issues since moving in. The actual furnace (Goodman GMS 8045) was installed in June of '06 while the unit was unfinished and waiting to be sold (for a year and a half). Shortly after moving in, my heat wasn't coming on when it should. We checked the filter and it was loaded with drywall dust from construction, so I ordered new ones and replaced it but continued to have issues. We even just recently replaced the thermostat with a new digital touch screen one - a Rite-Temp 8030C. What's happening is that it's not reaching the target temperature, and the heat doesn't even kick on until it dips below 63 degrees or so (if I'm lucky - it's gotten as low as 59). The original installer isn't servicing it and says it's now out of warranty anyway. I've been getting the runaround from the contractors who finished my unit (they're not the original ones who did the initial construction or when the furnace was installed). They keep saying someone will be here to check it out, but that still hasn't happened. I'd call someone myself but I shouldn't be getting stuck with the bill having just bought this place. I live in NH and it's pretty cold! Any ideas??

Oh, and I'm a woman, so I know nothing about this stuff!

Thanks!
    acetc Posts: 1,004, Reputation: 79
    Ultra Member

Dec 21, 2007, 02:01 PM