Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    mounteajade Posts: 4, Reputation: 2

Dec 22, 2005, 02:39 PM
    Mediation or Insurance?
    I accidentally bumped into the car in front of me and caused a small crack on the back bumper of the car in front.
    However, because of the crack, the driver says he needs to replace his whole bumper which would probably cost over $600.
    He said he will not call my insurance if I agree to give him money to fix his car. I called my agent to ask, and my agent said my insurance might rise over $100! Per half a year if he files a claim.
    What should I do? Should I pay for him or have him call insurance?
    I am only a poor student :( and this is the first time I ever got into an accident. I don't know what to do.
    nymphetamine Posts: 900, Reputation: 109

Dec 22, 2005, 02:48 PM
    Id find out if that's what it would actually cost. That does sound pretty close though. Now my friend(the dummy) ran in to a tree once and they told him it would be like $ 480.00 to fix it. Being that he's a stranger and you don't really know him I'm not sure that he wouldn't pocket the money then use it for something else and then call your insurance. Best thing to do is you take him over to the shop and you have the shop guy look at the car and tell how much it will cost and then you hand over the money yourself to the mechanic and not ever to the guy who you crashed into. If the guy does not agree to this then that means he is up to no good and you'll just have to call insurance.
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Dec 22, 2005, 02:51 PM
    Insurance
    First was there a police report, it was very common in Atlatna for one party to ask for a cash settlement if they did not have a licence or insurance.

But on the other hand, if you cracked my bumper I would want a new one (or at least a good used one) since one with a crack will be a lot weaker and can be dangous.