Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Dr D Posts: 698, Reputation: 127

Dec 19, 2005, 06:47 PM
    Addictive Website
    I use my laptop for work and my desktop to view news, look up information or items that I need and for e-mail. Never had an inclination for chat-lines etc. A few days ago I posted a thermostat question that labman was kind enough to address. Soon I found myself reading new posts, and throwing in my two cents when I thought appropriate. Now I spend more time hunched over my computer than I think prudent, reading old and new posts. Will this fascination with other peoples problems/questions wane with the passage of time, or should I begin to worry?
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Dec 19, 2005, 07:15 PM
    Site
    These sites can become adictive, I have been doing them for for about 7 years now on various areas. First it should never interfere with you work, and when it starts effecting your life, it is too much

Never allow anything to control you, you always have the control
    labman Posts: 10,580, Reputation: 551
    Uber Member

Dec 19, 2005, 07:24 PM
    Be afraid, very afraid.
    s_cianci Posts: 5,472, Reputation: 760
    Uber Member

Dec 19, 2005, 08:02 PM
    Some people spend incredible amounts of time on this site, as can be seen by examining the number of posts attributed to the user. Personally I only do it as a hobby, when I have some spare time at home - never at work. I don't even know if this site is firewalled at my place of employment or not because I've never tried to access it. It's fun to "throw in your two cents", as you mentioned. I guess any website has the potential to be addictive, depending on what one is naturally inclined to be drawn to. If you feel like it's getting out of control, then walk away and do something else like watch a movie.
    orange Posts: 1,364, Reputation: 197
    Ultra Member

Dec 19, 2005, 08:12 PM