Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    eyw Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Dec 17, 2005, 03:50 PM
    Questions on wiring up a Leviton PR180 Motion Activated Switch
    Newbie here - hopefully you guys can give me some help on a wiring question.

I have two boxes - box 1, which is where I would like to put the PR180, has the following wires: Hot, Traveler A and Traveler B.

Box 2, which is where the normal 3-way switch is, has Traveler A, Traveler B and what I believe is the Load wire.

Looking at Leviton's wiring diagram, they have the PR180 wired such that it is connected to the Load.

Is it possible to wire it in the scheme that I have described above and how would the wires be connected?

Thanks!
    tkrussell Posts: 9,659, Reputation: 725
    Uber Member

Dec 18, 2005, 06:54 AM
    If I understand what you want to do, is to reverse the location of the sensor and the 3 way switch, opposite the diagram by Leviton, due to your particular situation.

Leviton does not offer a wiring diagram for your situation, and the PR180 must be wired as published. You may try call Leviton Tech support to explain what you want to do and if they have a method of wiring for your arrangement.

Go to: http://www.leviton.com/sections/techsupp/techindx.htm

You can call in the US 1-800-824-3005
    Mon.-Fri. 8:30AM to 7:30PM ET
    Or Email Tech Support

I have called them several times before, and they do respond and are as helpful as possible.

I suspect that they will decline to offer a method to use the PR180 for your situation and offer that you must use two of their #ODS10, which is rated 800 watts, or the OSD15 rated for 1800 watts, sensors in place of both of your 3 way switches.

My thinking is it would be better to have two sensors so each sensor will sense occupancy either way someone enters the room/area.

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.