Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    retailgirl43 Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Dec 16, 2005, 09:23 PM
    Work/labor laws
    Can a company legally work and employee 26 days straight with no time off?:confused:
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Dec 16, 2005, 09:54 PM
    Time off
    They have to let them have breaks after 4 hours work and lunch time off.

Also depending on the state you work in, various states have laws on labor.

But in general, yes, getting weekends off is not a right.
    Now employees get burnt out after about 2 weeks straight but many jobs have all sorts of rules, I have had to do almost 36 hours straight before when I was a police officer because of emergancy. And then got less than 7 hours rest and back on duty. And did that for about 3 weeks straight.

At this point and time with all the people out of work, be glad to have the job
    CaptainForest Posts: 3,645, Reputation: 393
    Ultra Member

Dec 16, 2005, 09:56 PM
    I am inclined to say NO.

Here in Canada the laws says you can only work a maximum of 5 days in a week (So that is, 10 days straight maximum in a row). US and Canadian law is mostly similar.

However, it also depends on what job you do. In cases of emergency, laws have clauses to allow an emloyee to work more.

Assuming there is no emergency in your case, then you shouldn't have to work 26 straight days without consenting to it.
    talaniman Posts: 54,327, Reputation: 10855
    Expert

Dec 16, 2005, 11:09 PM
    Retail girl43
    Can you file for overtime after so many hours in a week?:cool:
    fredg Posts: 4,926, Reputation: 674
    Ultra Member

Dec 17, 2005, 06:32 AM
    Companies
    Hi,
    In the US, companies can generally require you to legally work any hours they want to; but have to pay overtime after 40 hours in one week.
    They can do as you asked, legally.