Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    d8ncer Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Dec 10, 2007, 09:47 PM
    Roommate who is not on my lease, unstable, not paying rent, won't leave
    Hi, This is my first time using this site. I feel a bit trapped right now and not sure what my rights are. I live in Florida and I rent an apartment where I'm the sole lessee. I was in a bit of a tight spot financially and needed a room mate so a friend of mine moved in. He was in a tight spot financially as well and I knew he couldn't get approval from the leasing office to move in. Being the trusting person that I am I allowed him to move in without siging the lease and no formal paperwork. After three months things became intolerable. He has become unstable, threatening and volatile so I asked him to move out. He is refusing to move out. He has not paid me any rent or utilities (and has also racked up $120renting movies of explicit nature on my comcast bill with no intention of paying me back). I really just want him out. At this point I'm concerned he's going to get me in trouble financially or legally (he also brings things of an illegal nature into my home despite the fact that I've asked him repeatedly not to.) Any advice? I think I can file an eviction notice but how long will that take? Do I file it for non-payment (even though we have no written payment/lease paperwork)? What if he miraculously decides to pay me? Can I still make him leave? I feel threatened by this man on a number of different levels. Appreciate any insight.
    oneguyinohio Posts: 1,302, Reputation: 196
    Ultra Member

Dec 10, 2007, 10:02 PM